Computer Science not Computer Art

My education has been molded within the tenets of the natural sciences. We would follow the scientific method. We had sayings like “if you didn’t document it, it didn’t happen!”. We had a set of common accepted techniques that were used as building blocks to achieve a desired result.

Fast forward to the present day and my current foray into computer science. I have struggled to impress the tenets of the sciences into every environment I have participated in: tests exist to ensure correctness and conformity; all code is consistent and thoroughly documented; patterns and common libraries are used.

It seems the efforts I take are not universal. I do not claim that I am the only one following these tenets, but I will insist that I am in the minority.

Are we practicing computer science or computer art?

:s/science/engineering/g

Leave a Reply

