Managing change

It has been my experience that most people respond to change as they do to loss or grieving. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross first identified the five stages of grieving: denial, bargaining, anger, despair, and acceptance. (These five stages have been humorously portrayed in the Simpsons.)

Effectively managing a team through change requires recognizing the reaction and guiding individuals though the steps as they occur. In most scenarios providing adequate time and an having an “open door policy” where people are encouraged to discuss their feelings is sufficient. For the more difficult cases, human resources may need to be brought in.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s